Scholarships and prizes


Every year prizes are awarded for the best first, second and third year honours thesis, as well as honours overall across each of the disciplines taught in the faculty. Prizes for best student in each undergraduate and master's by coursework course are also awarded, as well as a range of awards supported by generous donors.

Literary studies prizes

The Literary studies prizes have been named after previous academic staff who have made a significant contribution to the discipline:

  • Geoff Hiller Prize for Renaissance Literature in Literature and Creative Writing (donated prize $200)
  • David Bradley Prize for best 1st year student in Literary Studies
  • W.A.G. Scott Prize for best 2nd year student in Literary Studies
  • Clive Probyn Prize for best 3rd year student in Literary Studies
  • Arthur Brown Prize for best honours thesis in Literary Studies
  • Jenny Strauss Prize for best honours student in Literary Studies
  • Jenny Strauss Prize for the best Creative Writing Thesis in Literary Studies

Marie McLean Memorial Fund French Studies Honours Prize

Ukrainian studies prizes

  • Ilko Prystasz Memorial Prize
  • Stepan Soldat Memorial Prize
  • Vasyl and Sefania Fokshan Memorial Prize
  • Joseph and Eugenia Pona Prize
  • The Dr Anna Berehulak Memorial Scholarship

Find out more

Colin McCormick Prize awarded by the Dante Alighieri Society 


Chin Communications Master of Interpreting and Translation Studies Scholarship

Monash Joseph Gioscio Italian Grant