Visiting scholars

MAMU continues to receive a constant stream of visiting scholars, composer scholars and artists over the decades.

Notable past visiting scholars include:

  • Professor Stephen Blum (City University of New York)
  • Professor Judith Becker, Sumarsam (Wesleyan University)
  • Anthony Seeger (UCLA)
  • Philip Bohlman (University of Chicago)
  • Anne Rasmussen (The College of William and Mary)
  • Cynthia Chou (University of Copenhagen)
  • Anthony Reid (ANU)
  • Barbara Andaya and Leonard Andaya (University of Hawaii)
  • Dr Geoffrey Benjamin (University of Singapore)
  • Dr Patricia Matusky (University of Michigan)
  • Dr Jennifer Fraser (Ohio University)
  • Professor Bruno Nettl (University of Illinois)
  • Dr Uwe Paetzold (Robert Schumann University of Music, Duesseldorrf) 
  • Ed Herbst (Bali 1928 Repatriation Project)
  • and the late Professors Alan Merriam, and Jose Maceda (University of the Philippines)

Our visiting composer-scholars and artists have included:

  • A.L. Suwardi (STSI Surakarta)
  • Dr Mauly Purba (University of North Sumatra)
  • Adi Lingkepin and Dwi Saptarini (Indonesia’s Riau Islands Province’s Education, Culture and Tourism Department)