Professor Cat Hope receives major accolade at the 2019 Art Music Awards

Professor Cat Hope, Head of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, has received the Victorian Award for Excellence by an Individual at the 2019 Art Music Awards.

Hosted by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC), the Art Music Awards are the only national event in Australia to acknowledge the extraordinary achievements and creative successes of Australian composers, performers and educators in the genres of contemporary classical music, jazz and experimental music. Professor Hope (pictured) has been recognised for her leadership in the composition, performance and education of new music in Australia.

‘I'm thrilled to have been recognised by the Australian Music Centre and APRA AMCOS with this award,’ says Professor Hope. 'My passion for Australian music and music innovation across all fields of musical endeavour continues to drive my leadership of the music program at Monash University in new and exciting directions.'

Jordan Murray, Jazz Composition Lecturer at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, was also recognised with a Jazz Work of the Year award for his performance on Trombone Song Cycle.

Find out more about studying Music at Monash