School of Music well represented in 2017 Art Music Awards

Finalists for the Australian Music Centre's 2017 Art Music Awards were announced last week, and staff and students from Monash University's Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music feature heavily. The prestigious awards are presented in 11 categories, from large-scale symphonic pieces to instrumental works and experimental projects, and reflect the diverse, high-quality and flourishing Australian music industry. The award categories recognise works composed and performed in 2016.

Head of School, Professor Cat Hope has been nominated for the 2017 ‘Award for Excellence by an Individual’ for her contribution to performance, academia, composition, mentoring and advocacy. Executive Director of the Academy of Performing Arts, Paul Grabowsky is nominated for ‘Jazz Work of the Year’ for Moons of Jupiter as performed by the Paul Grabowsky Sextet (BMG AM). 

Eugene Ball's ‘Intrusions' (Jazzhead 2016) is featured on the latest CD release from the Monash Art Ensemble entitled ‘Histories'.

Nominated in the category of ‘Jazz Work of the Year’ is trumpeter and composer Eugene Ball for his composition Intrusions as commissioned and performed by the student-staff collaboration, the Monash Art Ensemble.

Also among the impressive list of nominees and performer credits are sessional staff members and School of Music guest artists Gian Slater, Stephen Magnusson, Andrea Keller, Julien Wilson, Peter Knight, Matthias Schack-Arnott and Andrew Ford. 

Brett Cottle, APRA AMCOS Chief Executive said: “Australia’s art music community is creating and presenting extraordinary work. We’re thrilled to be partnering with the AMC on the 7th Art Music Awards, and I congratulate all the 2017 finalists.”

Paul Grabowsky receives the 2016 Jazz Work of the Year award for ‘Nyilipidgi' with the Monash Art Ensemble.

The 2017 Art Music awards will be presented at the City Recital Hall in Sydney on Tuesday 22 August, with host and ABC presenter Simon Marnie with live music curation by Gabriella Smart.

The Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music would like to congratulate all award finalists. For more information and to see a fill list of nominees, please visit the Australian Music Centre.