Celebrating student achievements at the Monash Arts Awards

Celebrating student achievements at the Monash Arts Awards

This May the Monash Arts Awards celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of its students over two nights. Over 400 guests attended the undergraduate and postgraduate awards including students, their family and friends, and a number of our generous donors.


The first Awards Night in the month focused on Postgraduate Awardees opened with a welcome from the then Dean of Arts, Professor Rae Frances, and was hosted by Associate Professor Vicki Peel, Director of Graduate Programs. Awardees received their award from the Directors of each of the graduate programs. The evening also provided an opportunity for 2016 graduates to catch up with program directors and current students.

Best First Year student in Japanese Studies Alex Park, with Dr Jason Jones

The second Awards night was MC'd by Dr Jason Jones, from Japanese Studies. Students received their award on stage from the new Dean of Arts Professor Sharon Pickering. 

The audience also heard from guest speaker, Arts graduate Catherine Cotterril, who is now a Consultant at KPMG. Catherine shared her thoughts as an Arts alumna, and how she has used her Arts degree every day of her life since graduating, including at every one of her posts with the Australian Defence Force from her work in Delhi to Afghanistan. 



Yii Ying, Man Ting and Yuanxi were the piano trio to receive Bernie's Music Land Award this year. (L-R): Yii Ying Tan, Bernie Capicchiano, Man Ting Wong, Yuanxi Zhuang & our new Dean of Arts Professor Sharon Pickering.

Monash Arts is proud to offer the Arts Awards, and recognise the hard work and brilliance of students across the faculty.

Long-time donor Bernie Capicchiano who has generously offered the Bernie's Music Land Award every year since 1994, also gave his thoughts on why he decided to offer an Award saying, 

“At my College wind -up event, my music teacher told me if I had practiced I would have received an award for Year 10 Music… strange it was the first I had heard about such an award. Had I known … well…?”


We take this opportunity to recognise the contribution to these Awards from all the generous donors:

Ms Elise Baldwin (Cengage)
Mr Stewart Baron
Mr David and Ms Judith Bornstein
Mr Tony Betros (ANZCA)
Mr Howard and Mrs Jenny Brown
Mr Bernie Capicchiano (Bernie's Music Land)
Mrs Joan Earle
Mr Warren Fineberg (Jewish Holocaust Centre)
Mr Jason and Mrs Tess Galante (Ferngully Lodge)
Mr Maurie Hasen
Mr Geoff Hiller
Her Honour Judge Pamela Jenkins
Mr Michael Kieran Harvey
Mr Peter Kolliner OAM and Mrs Barbara Kolliner
Mrs Irene Kronhill-Pletka
Mr Marko Misko (Ukrainian Studies Support Fund)
Mr Philip Peluso
Mr Gary Shulkes
Mr Michael and Mrs Cheryl Spivakovsky
Ms Julia Tahourdin
Mr Sym Wolski (Jacob Kronhill Prize)
Mr Reuben Zylberszpic (jJwish Holocaust Centre)

Study with us