Monash Sunway now known as Monash University Malaysia

Monash University Malaysia

Monash University Malaysia

After almost 15 years in Malaysia, the Monash University Sunway Campus has received approval from the Malaysian Ministry of Education to be officially known as Monash University Malaysia. 

Pro Vice-Chancellor and President of Monash University Malaysia, Professor Helen Bartlett, said this was an important development for the campus and placed the campus on a similar footing to all the other foreign branch campuses in Malaysia. 

“This name-change signals that we are well-established as a national presence and we are making an important contribution to the country,” Professor Bartlett said. 

“It recognises that we are contributing to Malaysia through research, education and community engagement, and playing our part in helping the nation reach its goals.” 

Seven out of the University’s 10 faculties represented at represented at Monash Malaysia. 

“Through our programs, which include engineering, IT, science, medicine, pharmacy, business and arts and social sciences, we prepare graduates who have the potential to contribute to many aspects of society and ultimately become future leaders,” Professor Bartlett said. 

“Unlike many of the other international branch campuses that may only offer one or two disciplines, we have established a broad base. 

“We don’t see ourselves as a campus that’s just transporting programs from Australia. Our courses are contextualised for the country and the region to ensure they are locally relevant, while also taking a global perspective,” Professor Bartlett said.

A set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and marketing material with the new logo and name has been prepared for Monash Malaysia staff, for immediate use. The new name and logo will first appear on the website, letterhead, new school brochures and other display materials.